Coming to us as a reader suggestion, the Koolwink Motel has been an family owned business for 70 years. It first opened its doors to the traveling public as a tourist home in 1936. Nora and Henry Klien Rented rooms within their residence, as well as two small cottages. In August of 1955, Wallace and Pauline moved in and have been owner/operators ever since.
In the late 50s, a long foundation was built. A cottage was placed on each end and units were constructed in the middle and the Koolwink went from four rooms to eight. More units were built in the mid 60s. Then, in the late 60s, the annex building was added on a hill in the woods. At present, the Koolwink Motel is a modern facility with a retro feel. This combination provides a unique experiences in travel.
All the motel rooms are cared for as an extention of the Mauk’s home. As a result, they are welcoming, comfortable, and exceptionally clean.
Visited 768 times, 1 Visits today